New York Makes Roster Changes Pending Lockout

New York Islander Fan Central | 9/14/2012 11:36:00 AM |
Islanders website: Announces it's AHL player list which includes Ryan Strome/Griffin Reinhart returned to juniors.

The players assigned to the Sound Tigers include Marc Cantin, Casey Cizikas, Jason Clark, Calvin de Haan, Brandon DeFazio, Matt Donovan, Mike Halmo, Travis Hamonic, Kirill Kabanov, Jon Landry, Brock Nelson, Aaron Ness, Nino Niederreiter, Anders Nilsson, John Persson, Kevin Poulin, Blair Riley, Johan Sundstrom and David Ullstrom.

The Sound Tigers will begin training camp on Sept. 28

Sean Backman, Ty Wishart, Matt Watkins, Nathan McIver and Colin McDonald have all been placed on waivers.

NYIFC Comments:
This leave Matt Martin a contract, who turned down his qualifying offer. Only both sides know if a lockout means his season ends regardless per Charles Wang's rule of players being signed by the official date of Islander camp opening on 9/21.

Of course the question remains does Nino Niederreiter wish to play in the AHL.